15. Ludwig-Wilhelm Secondary School
In 1726, the Court rectory was built by Johann Michael Ludwig Rohrer by order of the margravine Sibylla Augusta. Between 1738 and 1747 it was expanded by three window axes each time by Johann Peter Ernst Rohrer, who added the side wings. The teaching order of the piarists used it as a monastery and school building.
In 1808, the monastery was secularized and the piarist school and the girls‘ high school that had been moved from Baden-Baden to Rastatt were combined. In 1908, the school was given the name Ludwig-Wilhelm Secondary School.
The library hall and the refectory of the erstwhile monastery now house the Historic Library of the Ludwig-Wilhelm Secondary School, which has one of the most important collections of its type in all of Germany.
Children discover Rastatt:
A lot of rural children in the baroque period never went to school. They had to help their parents in the fields or feed the animals.
The farms did not belong to the farmers, but the owners. The farmers had leased the houses and fields from them. A portion of the harvest had to be delivered to them in return.
There was already a school in Rastatt around 1500. The margravine Sibylla Augusta introduced secondary education in 1715. Monks were brought to Rastatt from the piarist order for this. The subjects in Secondary School were the Greek and Latin languages, music, writing and arithmetic. There was also a theater. The students learned playful use of the language there.
Anybody with lots of money was able to have his or her children educated by private teachers. In addition to the normal school subjects, the young princes in Rastatt were also given lessons in riding, fencing and shooting and the princesses were taught painting and needlework.